CyberPower PR1500LCDRTXL2U battery teardown

Bare cells needed
4 x 12 V 9 Ah
Max DC draw
38.1 A
OEM cartridge
RB1290X4F
Cell size
151 x 65 x 94 mm
In inches
5.94 x 2.56 x 3.70 in
Terminal
F2 check yours
Rating
1500 VA / 1500 W
Topology
Line Interactive
Waveform
Pure Sine Wave
Transfer time
4 ms typical
OEM list price
$352
DC bus
48 V
Last verified
2026-11-02
LiFePO4 at full load
RED

What battery does the PR1500LCDRTXL2U actually use?

The PR1500LCDRTXL2U uses RB1290X4F, which holds four 12 V blocks in series rated 9 Ah on a 48 V DC bus. Each block fits a 151 x 65 mm bay with F2 terminals. This model has no serial-number split that we could find.

Specs and where each one comes from. T1 is the manufacturer, T2 is a teardown or industrial cross-reference.
SpecValueSource
VA and watts1500 VA / 1500 WT1 cyberpowersystems.com
TopologyLine InteractiveT1 cyberpowersystems.com
Waveform, in the OEM's wordsSine WaveT1 cyberpowersystems.com
Transfer time4 ms typicalT1 cyberpowersystems.com
OEM cartridgeRB1290X4FT1 cyberpowersystems.com
OEM list price$352T1 cyberpowersystems.com

CyberPower lists 205 x 66 x 316 mm for the pack, and four 151 x 65 mm cells lie flat in that space, two by two. CyberPower names no bus voltage. It pairs the PR1500LCDRTXL2U with a 48 V battery module, and four 12 V blocks in series make 48 V, so we model 48 V. Full RB1290X4F teardown

PLAN VIEW, TO SCALE: CASE FORMATS151 mm65Standard 7-9 Ah (this page)CSB HR1234WF2, 94 mm case height151 mm51Slim 6 AhCSB HR1224WF2F1, 94 mm case height90 mm705 Ah cubeCSB HR1221WF2, 102 mm case heightFASTON TAB WIDTH, ENLARGEDF1 4.75 mm / 0.187"F2 6.35 mm / 0.250"

How many DC amps does the PR1500LCDRTXL2U pull?

At its full 1500 W rating, the PR1500LCDRTXL2U pulls about 38.1 A from its 48 V bus, and about 43.6 A as the battery sags to 42 V cutoff. Those figures assume 82% inverter efficiency, because CyberPower doesn't publish one for battery mode.

DC current by AC load, on the 48 V bus and at 42 V cutoff
AC loadNominalAt cutoff
25 W0.6 A0.7 A
60 W1.5 A1.7 A
100 W2.5 A2.9 A
200 W5.1 A5.8 A
300 W7.6 A8.7 A
750 W19.1 A21.8 A
1500 W38.1 A43.6 A

Is LiFePO4 safe in the PR1500LCDRTXL2U?

A 12 A BMS limits the PR1500LCDRTXL2U to about 472 W, well below its 1500 W rating. At full load the verdict is RED. We could not verify a LiFePO4 pack that fits this bay and harness, so we link none. Drag the slider below to test your own load.

25 WBMS ceiling 472 W1500 W

GREY: load is fine, but no verified cell fits

DC draw now
6.4 A
At 42 V cutoff
7.3 A
Safe AC load
472 W
Stock 9 Ah AGM51 min
12V 9 Ah high-rate AGM60 min
LiFePO4no verified pack fits this bay

PR1500LCDRTXL2U: lead-acid anchored to OEM half and full-load runtimes, LiFePO4 on a flat energy curve with inverter tare, at 82% inverter efficiency. A real inrush can trip a BMS below this ceiling. RB1290X4F teardown.

Maximum safe AC load by BMS continuous rating, on the 48 V bus
BMS continuousSafe AC loadShare of 1500 W
10 A394 W26%
12 A472 W31%
15 A590 W39%
20 A787 W52%

Four independent BMS boards in one 48 V series string multiply the balance risk. So we show no drop-in link.

How long will the PR1500LCDRTXL2U run on each battery?

CyberPower publishes about 14 min at 750 W and 5 min at 1500 W on the stock cells, and our curve passes through both points. The 12V 9 Ah high-rate AGM option adds runtime in the same case. Drag the slider for your own load.

Estimated runtime in the three options, with a 12 A BMS for LiFePO4
AC loadStock 9 Ah12V 9 Ah high-rate AGMLiFePO4 10 Ah
25 W12.9 hr13.2 hrno verified pack
60 W4.6 hr4.9 hrno verified pack
100 W2.5 hr2.8 hrno verified pack
200 W67 min77 minno verified pack
300 W41 min49 minno verified pack
750 W14 min18 minno verified pack
1500 W5.0 min6.5 minno verified pack
CyberPower's published runtime against raw Peukert and this site's calibrated curve
LoadCyberPower publishedRaw PeukertThis siteSource
750 W14 min14 min14 minT1 cyberpowersystems.com
1500 W5 min6.4 min5 minT1 cyberpowersystems.com

Upgraded AGM scales from the anchored curve, with k = 1.18 standard and 1.12 high-rate. LiFePO4 uses a flat energy curve with inverter tare. Method.

Which replacement should you buy for the PR1500LCDRTXL2U?

There are three routes for the PR1500LCDRTXL2U. Path A swaps in four bare cells and reuses your harness. Path B is withheld, because no verified pack fits. Path C replaces the whole UPS, which makes most sense for units over six years old.

The three routes compared
PathBest forLoad limitMain risk
A: bare SLA swapLowest cost, any load1500 WTerminal or case mismatch
B: drop-in LiFePO4Light loads, long lifenot offeredBMS trip, charger mismatch
C: native LiFePO4 UPSA unit over 6 years old, or high loads1800 WSlower transfer than this UPS

Path A: the bare-cell SLA swap

Surge-safe, because AGM has no BMS to trip.

4 x Mighty Max ML9-12 12V 9Ah F2
Standard AGM, F2. The like-for-like choice.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →
4 x CSB HR1234WF2 12V 9Ah High Rate (the high-rate option)
High-rate AGM, F2. Holds up best at UPS discharge rates.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

Path B: drop-in LiFePO4

Path C: a native LiFePO4 UPS

Worth it if this UPS is 6 or more years old, if a fault above isn't a battery problem, or if you need more than the BMS limit.

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
Listing claims 10 ms switch-over. A power station, not a tower UPS.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

How do you move the PR1500LCDRTXL2U harness to bare cells?

You move the factory jumper and leads from the old blocks to the new ones, in the same polarity. Unplug the UPS first, and tape each lead as it comes off, because the battery stays live. Sealed sleds must be opened first. No soldering is needed.

FRONT ELEVATION: 4 x 12 V, 48 V DC BUSCELL 1tabs F2+−CELL 2tabs F2+−CELL 3tabs F2+−CELL 4tabs F2+−RED TO UPS (+)BLACK TO UPS (−)each cell 151 x 65 x 94 mm
  1. Shut down the load, turn the UPS off and unplug it from the wall.
  2. Take a photo of the wiring. Open the battery door or sled and slide the pack out.
  3. Pull the red clip off the positive tab, and tape it straight away.
  4. Remove the black lead and tape it. Then lift off the jumpers between the cells, with any fuse your harness has.
  5. Check the new cells have the right size and tabs, then add any adapters from the parts list.
  6. Fit the jumpers first, from the positive of one cell to the negative of the next. Fit the leads one at a time, matching your photo, and remove the tape only from the lead you are fitting.
  7. Measure about 50 to 54 V across the two outer leads before you close the pack. Slide it back, plug in and charge for the time the manual gives before relying on it.
  8. Recycle the old cells at a battery retailer. Never bin lead-acid.

Sixty seconds is the best case for a loose-cell unit. Sealed sleds need opening first, and opening them may affect your warranty and CyberPower's equipment guarantee.

How much do you save over the RB1290X4F?

RB1290X4F lists at $352, and four bare cells cost about $139.76 at a non-Amazon single-unit price, saving roughly 60%. That reference is a premium CSB block from one store, so cheaper brands may save more. Check Amazon for its current price.

List price against a non-Amazon reference, not an Amazon price
ItemPriceSource
Official RB1290X4F MSRP$352T1 cyberpowersystems.com
Typical Commodity Bare-Cell Band (Non-Amazon Reference): 4 x CSB HR1234WF2$139.76T2 batterystore.com
Saving when you reuse the harness$212.24 (60%)computed

What do the PR1500LCDRTXL2U alarms and fault codes mean?

We don't have an alarm table for the PR1500LCDRTXL2U, because the sources we captured don't include one. Rather than guess at what a beep means, check the manual that came with your unit before you buy a replacement battery or contact support.

We could not get this model's alarm table, so we list nothing rather than guess. Check the manual that came with your unit.

Alarm table status
PR1500LCDRTXL2UNot captured

How do you reach the battery in the PR1500LCDRTXL2U?

We have no verified door procedure for the PR1500LCDRTXL2U. CyberPower sells a replacement cartridge for it, but we did not capture the steps. Follow the manual for your unit, and don't open the case to find out how it comes apart. Contact the manufacturer if you are unsure.

Physical access for the PR1500LCDRTXL2U, from the OEM manual where stated
FieldValueSource
Battery door accessNo procedure captured. Treat as a service itemnone
Cell orientationNot stated in the manual we capturednone
Harness connector typeNot stated in the manual we capturednone
Cell layout4 x 12 V, in seriesverified