CyberPower PR1500LCD battery teardown

Bare cells needed
2 x 12 V 17 Ah
Max DC draw
76.2 A
OEM cartridge
RB12170X2A
Cell size
181 x 76 x 167 mm
In inches
7.13 x 2.99 x 6.57 in
Terminal
NB check yours
Rating
1500 VA / 1500 W
Topology
Line Interactive
Waveform
Pure Sine Wave
Transfer time
4 ms typical
OEM list price
$248
DC bus
24 V
Last verified
2026-11-02
LiFePO4 at full load
RED

What battery does the PR1500LCD actually use?

The PR1500LCD uses RB12170X2A, which holds two 12 V blocks in series rated 17 Ah on a 24 V DC bus. Each block fits a 181 x 76 mm bay with NB terminals. This model has no serial-number split that we could find.

Specs and where each one comes from. T1 is the manufacturer, T2 is a teardown or industrial cross-reference.
SpecValueSource
VA and watts1500 VA / 1500 WT1 cyberpowersystems.com
TopologyLine InteractiveT1 cyberpowersystems.com
Waveform, in the OEM's wordsSine WaveT1 cyberpowersystems.com
Transfer time4 ms typicalT1 cyberpowersystems.com
OEM cartridgeRB12170X2AT1 cyberpowersystems.com
OEM list price$248T1 cyberpowersystems.com

CyberPower lists 152 x 175 x 181 mm for the pack, which is two 76 mm wide blocks side by side. CyberPower's spec table lists two batteries, although its overview text says one. Sellers of compatible sets list nut-and-bolt terminals. Full RB12170X2A teardown

A 151 x 65 mm F2 cell doesn't suit this bay and harness: terminal nb mismatch.

How many DC amps does the PR1500LCD pull?

At its full 1500 W rating, the PR1500LCD pulls about 76.2 A from its 24 V bus, and about 87.1 A as the battery sags to 21 V cutoff. Those figures assume 82% inverter efficiency, because CyberPower doesn't publish one for battery mode.

DC current by AC load, on the 24 V bus and at 21 V cutoff
AC loadNominalAt cutoff
25 W1.3 A1.5 A
60 W3.0 A3.5 A
100 W5.1 A5.8 A
200 W10.2 A11.6 A
300 W15.2 A17.4 A
750 W38.1 A43.6 A
1500 W76.2 A87.1 A

Is LiFePO4 safe in the PR1500LCD?

A 12 A BMS limits the PR1500LCD to about 236 W, well below its 1500 W rating. At full load the verdict is RED. We could not verify a LiFePO4 pack that fits this bay and harness, so we link none. Drag the slider below to test your own load.

25 WBMS ceiling 236 W1500 W

RED: BMS trip hazard

DC draw now
12.7 A
At 21 V cutoff
14.5 A
Safe AC load
236 W
Stock 17 Ah AGM55 min
12V 18 Ah AGM nut and bolt59 min
LiFePO4no verified pack fits this bay

PR1500LCD: lead-acid anchored to OEM half and full-load runtimes, LiFePO4 on a flat energy curve with inverter tare, at 82% inverter efficiency. A real inrush can trip a BMS below this ceiling. RB12170X2A teardown.

Maximum safe AC load by BMS continuous rating, on the 24 V bus
BMS continuousSafe AC loadShare of 1500 W
10 A197 W13%
12 A236 W16%
15 A295 W20%
20 A394 W26%

This pack uses nut-and-bolt terminals, and the LiFePO4 pack we checked has F1 tabs. So we show no drop-in link.

How long will the PR1500LCD run on each battery?

CyberPower publishes about 15.1 min at 750 W and 4.7 min at 1500 W on the stock cells, and our curve passes through both points. The 12V 18 Ah AGM nut and bolt option adds runtime in the same case. Drag the slider for your own load.

Estimated runtime in the three options, with a 12 A BMS for LiFePO4
AC loadStock 17 Ah12V 18 Ah AGM nut and boltLiFePO4 10 Ah
25 W13.4 hr14.2 hrno verified pack
60 W5.0 hr5.3 hrno verified pack
100 W2.7 hr2.9 hrno verified pack
200 W72 min77 minno verified pack
300 W45 min48 minno verified pack
750 W15 min16 minno verified pack
1500 W4.7 min5.0 minno verified pack
CyberPower's published runtime against raw Peukert and this site's calibrated curve
LoadCyberPower publishedRaw PeukertThis siteSource
750 W15.1 min13 min15.1 minT1 cyberpowersystems.com
1500 W4.7 min6.0 min4.7 minT1 cyberpowersystems.com

Same footprint, 5.9% more rated capacity. Upgraded AGM scales from the anchored curve, with k = 1.18 standard and 1.12 high-rate. LiFePO4 uses a flat energy curve with inverter tare. Method.

Which replacement should you buy for the PR1500LCD?

There are three routes for the PR1500LCD. Path A swaps in two bare cells and reuses your harness. Path B is withheld, because no verified pack fits. Path C replaces the whole UPS, which makes most sense for units over six years old.

The three routes compared
PathBest forLoad limitMain risk
A: bare SLA swapLowest cost, any load1500 WTerminal or case mismatch
B: drop-in LiFePO4Light loads, long lifenot offeredBMS trip, charger mismatch
C: native LiFePO4 UPSA unit over 6 years old, or high loads1800 WSlower transfer than this UPS

Path A: the bare-cell SLA swap

Surge-safe, because AGM has no BMS to trip. 17 Ah and 9 Ah cells share the 151 x 65 x 94 mm case, so 9 Ah adds 5.9% rated capacity.

2 x Mighty Max ML18-12 12V 18Ah NB
Nut and bolt terminals.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

Path B: drop-in LiFePO4

Path C: a native LiFePO4 UPS

Worth it if this UPS is 6 or more years old, if a fault above isn't a battery problem, or if you need more than the BMS limit.

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
Listing claims 10 ms switch-over. A power station, not a tower UPS.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

How do you move the PR1500LCD harness to bare cells?

You move the factory jumper and leads from the old blocks to the new ones, in the same polarity. Unplug the UPS first, and tape each lead as it comes off, because the battery stays live. This pack uses bolted terminals, so it needs a wrench. No soldering is needed.

FRONT ELEVATION: 2 x 12 V, 24 V DC BUSCELL 1tabs M5 bolt+−CELL 2tabs M5 bolt+−RED TO UPS (+)BLACK TO UPS (−)each cell 181 x 76 x 167 mm
  1. Shut down the load, turn the UPS off and unplug it from the wall.
  2. Take a photo of the wiring. Open the battery door or sled and slide the pack out.
  3. Undo the bolted lead on the positive post first, and tape it straight away. Keep your wrench away from the other post.
  4. Remove the black lead and tape it. Then lift off the jumper between the cells, with any fuse your harness has.
  5. Check the new cells have the right size and tabs, then add any adapters from the parts list.
  6. Fit the jumper first, from the positive of one cell to the negative of the next. Fit the leads one at a time, matching your photo, and remove the tape only from the lead you are fitting.
  7. Measure about 25 to 27 V across the two outer leads before you close the pack. Slide it back, plug in and charge for the time the manual gives before relying on it.
  8. Recycle the old cells at a battery retailer. Never bin lead-acid.

Sixty seconds is the best case for a loose-cell unit. Sealed sleds need opening first, and opening them may affect your warranty and CyberPower's equipment guarantee.

How much do you save over the RB12170X2A?

RB12170X2A lists at $248, and two bare cells cost about $120.94 at a non-Amazon single-unit price, saving roughly 51%. That reference is a premium CSB block from one store, so cheaper brands may save more. Check Amazon for its current price.

List price against a non-Amazon reference, not an Amazon price
ItemPriceSource
Official RB12170X2A MSRP$248T1 cyberpowersystems.com
Typical Commodity Bare-Cell Band (Non-Amazon Reference): 2 x CSB GP12170NB$120.94T2 batterystore.com
Saving when you reuse the harness$127.06 (51%)computed

What do the PR1500LCD alarms and fault codes mean?

We don't have an alarm table for the PR1500LCD, because the sources we captured don't include one. Rather than guess at what a beep means, check the manual that came with your unit before you buy a replacement battery or contact support.

We could not get this model's alarm table, so we list nothing rather than guess. Check the manual that came with your unit.

Alarm table status
PR1500LCDNot captured

How do you reach the battery in the PR1500LCD?

We have no verified door procedure for the PR1500LCD. CyberPower sells a replacement cartridge for it, but we did not capture the steps. Follow the manual for your unit, and don't open the case to find out how it comes apart. Contact the manufacturer if you are unsure.

Physical access for the PR1500LCD, from the OEM manual where stated
FieldValueSource
Battery door accessNo procedure captured. Treat as a service itemnone
Cell orientationNot stated in the manual we capturednone
Harness connector typeNot stated in the manual we capturednone
Cell layout2 x 12 V, in seriesverified