CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 battery teardown
- Bare cells needed
- 2 x 12 V 9 Ah
- Max DC draw
- 45.7 A
- OEM cartridge
- RB1290X2E
- Cell size
- 151 x 65 x 94 mm
- In inches
- 5.94 x 2.56 x 3.70 in
- Terminal
- F2 check yours
- Rating
- 1500 VA / 900 W
- Topology
- Line Interactive
- Waveform
- Simulated / Stepped
- Transfer time
- 4 ms typical
- OEM list price
- $129.99
- DC bus
- 24 V
- Last verified
- 2026-11-01
- LiFePO4 at full load
- RED
What battery does the CP1500AVRLCD3 actually use?
The CP1500AVRLCD3 uses RB1290X2E, which holds two 12 V blocks in series rated 9 Ah on a 24 V DC bus. Each block fits a 151 x 65 mm bay with F2 terminals. This model has no serial-number split that we could find.
| Spec | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| VA and watts | 1500 VA / 900 W | T1 cyberpowersystems.com |
| Topology | Line Interactive | T1 cyberpowersystems.com |
| Waveform, in the OEM's words | Simulated Sine Wave | T1 cyberpowersystems.com |
| Transfer time | 4 ms typical | T1 cyberpowersystems.com |
| OEM cartridge | RB1290X2E | T1 cyberpowersystems.com |
| Why Does CyberPower Assign a Different Cartridge SKU? | CyberPower doesn't publish a reason. RB1290X2E lists at $129.99, against RB1290X2 on the CP1500PFCLCD at $117, and RB1290X2 on the LX1500GU at $117, and RB1290X2 on the CST1500SUC at $117, and RB1290X2D on the CP1500PFCRM2U at $142.99. All are 2 x 12 V blocks on a 24 V bus, so the difference we can document is SKU, sled and price, not the cells. | |
| OEM list price | $129.99 | T1 cyberpowersystems.com |
CyberPower publishes no size here. A compatible pack is listed at 11.5 x 2.5 x 4.25 in. CyberPower assigns this cartridge, not RB1290X2, to the CP1500AVRLCD3. Full RB1290X2E teardown
How many DC amps does the CP1500AVRLCD3 pull?
At its full 900 W rating, the CP1500AVRLCD3 pulls about 45.7 A from its 24 V bus, and about 52.3 A as the battery sags to 21 V cutoff. Those figures assume 82% inverter efficiency, because CyberPower doesn't publish one for battery mode.
| AC load | Nominal | At cutoff |
|---|---|---|
| 25 W | 1.3 A | 1.5 A |
| 60 W | 3.0 A | 3.5 A |
| 100 W | 5.1 A | 5.8 A |
| 200 W | 10.2 A | 11.6 A |
| 300 W | 15.2 A | 17.4 A |
| 450 W | 22.9 A | 26.1 A |
| 900 W | 45.7 A | 52.3 A |
Is LiFePO4 safe in the CP1500AVRLCD3?
A 12 A BMS limits the CP1500AVRLCD3 to about 236 W, well below its 900 W rating. At full load the verdict is RED. Packs in series can drift apart on the charger, so balance them first. Drag the slider below to test your own load.
RED: BMS trip hazard
- DC draw now
- 12.7 A
- At 21 V cutoff
- 14.5 A
- Safe AC load
- 236 W
CP1500AVRLCD3: lead-acid anchored to OEM half and full-load runtimes, LiFePO4 on a flat energy curve with inverter tare, at 82% inverter efficiency. A real inrush can trip a BMS below this ceiling. RB1290X2E teardown.
| BMS continuous | Safe AC load | Share of 900 W |
|---|---|---|
| 10 A | 197 W | 22% |
| 12 A | 236 W | 26% |
| 15 A | 295 W | 33% |
| 20 A | 394 W | 44% |
Balance every pack first. Two independent BMS boards on one series charger can drift apart, and one can cut off early. Series drift and 0 V lockout explained.
How long will the CP1500AVRLCD3 run on each battery?
CyberPower publishes about 12 min at 450 W and 3 min at 900 W on the stock cells, and our curve passes through both points. The 12V 9 Ah high-rate AGM option adds runtime in the same case. Drag the slider for your own load.
| AC load | Stock 9 Ah | 12V 9 Ah high-rate AGM | LiFePO4 10 Ah |
|---|---|---|---|
| 25 W | 6.1 hr | 6.4 hr | 4.3 hr |
| 60 W | 2.2 hr | 2.4 hr | 2.4 hr |
| 100 W | 71 min | 82 min | 1.6 hr |
| 200 W | 31 min | 38 min | 53 min |
| 300 W | 19 min | 24 min | 0 min, BMS trip |
| 450 W | 12 min | 15 min | 0 min, BMS trip |
| 900 W | 3.0 min | 4.0 min | 0 min, BMS trip |
| Load | CyberPower published | Raw Peukert | This site | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 450 W | 12 min | 12 min | 12 min | T1 cyberpowersystems.com |
| 900 W | 3 min | 5.1 min | 3 min | T1 cyberpowersystems.com |
Upgraded AGM scales from the anchored curve, with k = 1.18 standard and 1.12 high-rate. LiFePO4 uses a flat energy curve with inverter tare. Method.
Which replacement should you buy for the CP1500AVRLCD3?
There are three routes for the CP1500AVRLCD3. Path A swaps in two bare cells and reuses your harness. Path B adds LiFePO4 for loads under 394 W, by the listing's 20 A claim. Path C replaces the whole UPS, which makes most sense for units over six years old.
| Path | Best for | Load limit | Main risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| A: bare SLA swap | Lowest cost, any load | 900 W | Terminal or case mismatch |
| B: drop-in LiFePO4 | Light loads, long life | 394 W on the listed 20 A | BMS trip, charger mismatch |
| C: native LiFePO4 UPS | A unit over 6 years old, or high loads | 1000 W | Slower transfer than this UPS |
Path A: the bare-cell SLA swap
Surge-safe, because AGM has no BMS to trip.
Path B: drop-in LiFePO4
Safe to about 394 W if the listing's 20 A BMS is continuous, or 236 W at 12 A. Check your load before you click.
Path C: a native LiFePO4 UPS
Worth it if this UPS is 6 or more years old, if a fault above isn't a battery problem, or if you need more than the BMS limit. Listings and reviews put Goldenmate's transfer at 8 to 20 ms, against this unit's 4 ms typical, so check that your PC tolerates it.
How do you move the CP1500AVRLCD3 harness to bare cells?
You move the factory jumper and leads from the old blocks to the new ones, in the same polarity. Unplug the UPS first, and tape each lead as it comes off, because the battery stays live. Sealed sleds must be opened first. No soldering is needed.
- Shut down the load, turn the UPS off and unplug it from the wall.
- Take a photo of the wiring. Open the battery door or sled and slide the pack out.
- Pull the red clip off the positive tab, and tape it straight away.
- Remove the black lead and tape it. Then lift off the jumper between the cells, with its fuse if your harness has one.
- Check the new cells have the right size and tabs, then add any adapters from the parts list.
- Fit the jumper first, from the positive of one cell to the negative of the other. Fit the leads one at a time, matching your photo, and remove the tape only from the lead you are fitting.
- Measure about 25 to 27 V across the two outer leads before you close the pack. Slide it back, plug in and charge for the time the manual gives before relying on it.
- Recycle the old cells at a battery retailer. Never bin lead-acid.
Sixty seconds is the best case for a loose-cell unit. Sealed sleds need opening first, and opening them may affect your warranty and CyberPower's equipment guarantee.
How much do you save over the RB1290X2E?
RB1290X2E lists at $129.99, and two bare cells cost about $69.88 at a non-Amazon single-unit price, saving roughly 46%. That reference is a premium CSB block from one store, so cheaper brands may save more. Check Amazon for its current price.
| Item | Price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Official RB1290X2E MSRP | $129.99 | T1 cyberpowersystems.com |
| Typical Commodity Bare-Cell Band (Non-Amazon Reference): 2 x CSB HR1234WF2 | $69.88 | T2 batterystore.com |
| Saving when you reuse the harness | $60.11 (46%) | computed |
What do the CP1500AVRLCD3 alarms and fault codes mean?
CyberPower CP1500AVRLCD3 user manual lists 5 signals we track for the CP1500AVRLCD3. Only 1 of them point to the battery, and 3 mean you should not buy batteries yet. Read your signal below first, because a new battery won't fix a charger, a relay or an overload.
| Signal | Meaning | What to do | Battery swap? | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| REPLACE BATTERY icon | Batteries poorly connected or worn out | Check the connections first, then replace the batteries. | Path A swap fixes this | T1 manual |
| E02 | Charger fault, no charge | Contact CyberPower. New batteries won't fix a charger. | Do not buy batteries | T1 manual |
| E11 | Battery overvoltage | Contact CyberPower. | Do not buy batteries | T1 manual |
| E21 | Output short | Check connected equipment, then turn it on again. | Check first, then decide | T1 manual |
| E22 | Overload | Unplug at least one item, then turn it on again. | Do not buy batteries | T1 manual |
How do you reach the battery in the CP1500AVRLCD3?
On the CP1500AVRLCD3, the manual says: screws, then a locking latch and sliding cover. Inside there are two batteries of about 151 x 65 mm. Check the details below before you start, turn the unit off and unplug it first, and photograph the wiring so you can match it later.
| Field | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Battery door access | Screws, then a locking latch and sliding cover | T1 manual |
| Cell orientation | Not stated in the manual we captured | same manual |
| Harness connector type | Not stated in the manual we captured | same manual |
| Cell layout | 2 x 12 V, in series | verified |