Eaton 5P1500R battery teardown

Battery
Not published
Max DC draw
55.9 A
OEM cartridge
EBP-0807
Cell size
unverified
In inches
unverified
Terminal
unverified
Rating
1440 VA / 1100 W
Topology
Line Interactive
Waveform
Pure Sine Wave
Transfer time
4 ms
OEM list price
not published
DC bus
24 V (assumed)
Last verified
2026-11-01
LiFePO4 at full load
RED

What battery does the 5P1500R actually use?

The 5P1500R uses EBP-0807, which holds a module whose cells the manufacturer does not publish, assumed rated 7 Ah on a 24 V DC bus. No source gives the cell size for this pack. This model has no serial-number split that we could find.

Specs and where each one comes from. T1 is the manufacturer, T2 is a teardown or industrial cross-reference.
SpecValueSource
VA and watts1440 VA / 1100 WT1 images10.newegg.com
TopologyLine InteractiveT1 eaton.com
Waveform, in the OEM's wordsTrue sine waveT1 eaton.com
Transfer time4 msT1 eaton.com

Eaton lists EBP-0807 as user replaceable, and publishes no cell count, voltage, size or terminal for it. Eaton publishes no bus voltage or cell details. Current figures assume 24 V and could be wrong.

How many DC amps does the 5P1500R pull?

At its full 1100 W rating, the 5P1500R pulls about 55.9 A from its 24 V bus, and about 63.9 A as the battery sags to 21 V cutoff. Those figures assume 82% inverter efficiency, because Eaton doesn't publish one for battery mode.

DC current by AC load, on the 24 V bus and at 21 V cutoff
AC loadNominalAt cutoff
25 W1.3 A1.5 A
60 W3.0 A3.5 A
100 W5.1 A5.8 A
200 W10.2 A11.6 A
300 W15.2 A17.4 A
550 W27.9 A31.9 A
1100 W55.9 A63.9 A

Is LiFePO4 safe in the 5P1500R?

A 12 A BMS limits the 5P1500R to about 472 W, well below its 1100 W rating. At full load the verdict is RED. We could not verify a LiFePO4 pack that fits this bay and harness, so we link none. Drag the slider below to test your own load.

25 WBMS ceiling 472 W1100 W

GREY: load is fine, but no verified cell fits

DC draw now
12.7 A
At 21 V cutoff
14.5 A
Safe AC load
472 W
Stock 7 Ah AGM34 min
Upgraded cellnone verified for this bay
LiFePO4no verified pack fits this bay

5P1500R: lead-acid anchored to OEM half and full-load runtimes, LiFePO4 on a flat energy curve with inverter tare, at 82% inverter efficiency. A real inrush can trip a BMS below this ceiling.

Maximum safe AC load by BMS continuous rating, on the 24 V bus
BMS continuousSafe AC loadShare of 1100 W
10 A197 W18%
12 A236 W21%
15 A295 W27%
20 A394 W36%

The pack contents are unverified. So we show no drop-in link.

How long will the 5P1500R run on each battery?

Eaton publishes about 12 min at 600 W and 5 min at 1000 W on the stock cells, and our curve passes through both points. We found no larger cell verified for this bay. Drag the slider for your own load.

Estimated runtime in the three options, with a 12 A BMS for LiFePO4
AC loadStock 7 AhUpgraded cellLiFePO4 10 Ah
25 W8.5 hrnone verifiedno verified pack
60 W3.0 hrnone verifiedno verified pack
100 W1.7 hrnone verifiedno verified pack
200 W44 minnone verifiedno verified pack
300 W27 minnone verifiedno verified pack
550 W13 minnone verifiedno verified pack
1100 W4.2 minnone verifiedno verified pack
Eaton's published runtime against raw Peukert and this site's calibrated curve
LoadEaton publishedRaw PeukertThis siteSource
600 W12 min14 min12 minT1 images10.newegg.com
1000 W5 min7.6 min5 minT1 images10.newegg.com

Upgraded AGM scales from the anchored curve, with k = 1.18 standard and 1.12 high-rate. LiFePO4 uses a flat energy curve with inverter tare. Method.

Which replacement should you buy for the 5P1500R?

There are three routes for the 5P1500R. Path A is withheld, because this pack's cell size is unverified. Path B is withheld, because no verified pack fits. Path C replaces the whole UPS, which makes most sense for units over six years old.

The three routes compared
PathBest forLoad limitMain risk
A: bare SLA swapLowest cost, any load1100 WCell size unverified
B: drop-in LiFePO4Light loads, long lifenot offeredBMS trip, charger mismatch
C: native LiFePO4 UPSA unit over 6 years old, or high loads1800 WSlower transfer than this UPS

Path A: the bare-cell SLA swap

Path B: drop-in LiFePO4

Path C: a native LiFePO4 UPS

Worth it if this UPS is 6 or more years old, if a fault above isn't a battery problem, or if you need more than the BMS limit.

EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
Listing claims 10 ms switch-over. A power station, not a tower UPS.
Check Prime Price & Stock on Amazon →

How do you move the 5P1500R harness to bare cells?

You move the factory jumper and leads from the old blocks to the new ones, in the same polarity. Unplug the UPS first, and tape each lead as it comes off, because the battery stays live. Sealed sleds must be opened first. No soldering is needed.

FRONT ELEVATION: 4 x 12 V, 24 V DC BUS, 2 PARALLEL PAIRS (ASSUMED)CELL 1tabs unverified+−CELL 2tabs unverified+−CELL 3tabs unverified+−CELL 4tabs unverified+−RED TO UPS (+)BLACK TO UPS (−)
  1. Shut down the load, turn the UPS off and unplug it from the wall.
  2. Take a photo of the wiring. Open the battery door or sled and slide the pack out.
  3. Pull the red clip off the positive tab, and tape it straight away.
  4. Remove the black lead and tape it. Then lift off the jumper between the cells, with its fuse if your harness has one.
  5. Check the new cells have the right size and tabs, then add any adapters from the parts list.
  6. Fit the jumper first, from the positive of one cell to the negative of the other. Fit the leads one at a time, matching your photo, and remove the tape only from the lead you are fitting.
  7. Measure about 25 to 27 V across the two outer leads before you close the pack. Slide it back, plug in and charge for the time the manual gives before relying on it.
  8. Recycle the old cells at a battery retailer. Never bin lead-acid.

Sixty seconds is the best case for a loose-cell unit. Sealed sleds need opening first, and opening them may affect your warranty and Eaton's equipment guarantee.

How much do you save over the EBP-0807?

We can't state a saving for EBP-0807, because we found no published list price for it. Any figure here would be a guess, so this page leaves it out rather than estimating one for you. Compare the list price with your own quote.

What we have
ItemStatus
EBP-0807 list pricenot published
Verified bare-cell referencenone

What do the 5P1500R alarms and fault codes mean?

We don't have an alarm table for the 5P1500R, because the sources we captured don't include one. Rather than guess at what a beep means, check the manual that came with your unit before you buy a replacement battery or contact support.

We could not get this model's alarm table, so we list nothing rather than guess. Check the manual that came with your unit.

Alarm table status
5P1500RNot captured

How do you reach the battery in the 5P1500R?

We have no verified door procedure for the 5P1500R. The manufacturer says this battery should be replaced by qualified personnel. Treat the unit as a service item, and don't open the case to find out how it comes apart. Contact the manufacturer if you are unsure.

Physical access for the 5P1500R, from the OEM manual where stated
FieldValueSource
Battery door accessNo procedure captured. Treat as a service itemnone
Cell orientationNot stated in the manual we capturednone
Harness connector typeNot stated in the manual we capturednone
Cell layoutNot publishedunverified